top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaniel Miao

Cream Corn Soup w/ Puff Pastry

This is a classic in my family. As a child I have always hated soups. I'm not sure if it was because I was annoyed that it was hot, or if it was because I couldn't immediately dig in. However when ever his cream corn soup is made, I would be running to my dining table setting up and getting ready to grab the soup bowls. This to me is the chicken noodle soup in my family. The guaranteed dish that will cheer me up, and comfort me when I'm not feeling well.


(What better way to eat a family classic than in a bowl mug)


Ingredients:

2 cans of cream corn

15 ounces of chicken broth

2-3 eggs (beaten) this is to taste

3 slices of bacon

puff pastry sheet

1 tablespoons of cornstarch (if you wish for a thicker soup use more)

1/4 cups of cold water

frozen mixed vegetables (can use just corn but I prefer different vegetables to add color, add to taste)

Salt and Pepper to taste


Start by cooking the bacon in a pan. When crispy chop into tiny pieces, save this on the side for later.


In a small pot put the canned corn and chicken broth in and heat over medium heat. Stir occasionally to make sure nothing sticks to the bottom and burn.


Using the cold water add the corn starch into it mix thoroughly. Then slowly add the corn starch mixture into the small pot. Add a little at a time, this will ensure the soup isn't too thick.


Now add in the bacon, and then add in the beaten egg stirring the whole time so it separates throughout the soup.


Pour the soup into a bowl of your choice. Take the sheet of puff pastry and cut a square that is big enough to full cover the bowl and over the edges. Press the pastry around the edges and poke a hole in the middle with a toothpick. Cook in oven based off puff pastry instructions.


ENJOY, send me emails on how you like the dish or if you have any questions.



184 views0 comments
bottom of page